wc 51 where from?

From VC-1 to WC64-KD.
gareth
Private

wc 51 where from?

Post by gareth »

Hello everyone, as I am very new to this, could someone please tell me the differences between us,uk and canadian built dodge wc's if any at all? I have a 1942 wc 51 that came out of the british army in 47 but i cannot tell where it was built, can someone point me in the right direction please?
I think all the original data plates are missing. Regards, Gareth.
Chris Davis
Technician 4th Grade
Technician 4th Grade

Serial Number...

Post by Chris Davis »

You should find a serial number stamped on the outside of the front driver's side (assuming this is a left hand drive truck) frame rail between the shock absorber and the front spring mount.

(This photo just gives you the general area, I don't have any close ups handy.)

Chances are it is 8 digits long, starting with 81.

Let us know what you find and we can take a guess at where/when built.
Chris Davis
'45 WC-51
MVPA# 20000
Centerville, UT
http://www.surplustrucks.com/WC51/WC51Home.htm
Bert
General
General
My garage: 1943 Dodge WC-51 "old bets"
1945 Dodge WC-62

Re: wc 51 where from?

Post by Bert »

gareth wrote:Hello everyone, as I am very new to this, could someone please tell me the differences between us,uk and canadian built dodge wc's if any at all? I have a 1942 wc 51 that came out of the british army in 47 but i cannot tell where it was built, can someone point me in the right direction please?
I think all the original data plates are missing. Regards, Gareth.
Hello Gareth,
The UK didn't build Dode WC-xx's. The Canadians build their version of the WC-52 (WC-51 with winch) and called it the D3/4 APT.
So if your truck is a WC-51 it's US build.
Last edited by Bert on Thu Jul 27, 2006 7:10 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
Tony B
Master Sergeant
Master Sergeant

Post by Tony B »